Day 3-Quote Challenge 

Do you ever find yourself yearning to live in another decade? 

I have and it’s always been the 1920s and 1940s. 

Movies like The Age of Adaline, The Notebook, The Longest Ride, A League of their Own, Pearl Harbor, and The Great Gatsby have given viewers the glimpse of these decades where it all seems to be glamorous despite all the chaos of the time periods. 

Watching the musical movie Chicago gave me a small glimpse of how jazz was prominent to entertainment. Low morals allowed murder to be acceptable in American culture and made the crime look entertaining via headlines.

The HBO series, Boardwalk Empire has also allowed me to live in the 1920s and see how easy it is to betray those who are in your entourage to allow yourself to climb the social ladder. 

I remember reading The Great Gatsby and wondering what life would be like with all the speakeasies and low morals. Would I go to a powerful man like Wolfshein or Nucky to ask for a favor? Would I be a jazz singer in a speakeasy club? Would I attend several of Gatsby like parties? 

I’m sure I would have attended a few of these parties because it looked like so much fun as seen through the latest version of the movie.

I digress. To complete the 3-day quote challenge, I picked three quotes from this chaotic yet classic novel by F. Scott Fitzgerald.

 

The parties were bigger. The pace was faster, the shows were broader, the buildings were higher, the morals were looser, and the liquor was cheaper.  

 

The city seen from the Queensborough Bridge is always the city seen for the first time, in its first wild promise of all the mystery and the beauty in the world.

  

Men and girls came and went like moths among the whisperings and the champagne and the stars.

My last nominations for this challenge

Samc95xc
Savannah
Show Your True Self
Thank you again to mescalime for nominating me for this challenge. I had a good time figuring out which quotes I wanted to share. 

I look forward to other fun challenges in the future. 

Leave a Reply

