The Start of the Reading Challenge!

  
The start of a new week of a new year gives me the inspiration to follow through with one of my resolutions.

As stated in my earlier post, I will be completing the Reading Challenge for 2016. This list comprises of 40 types of books that act as a guideline for you to choose which books you are interested in reading.

The Complete List:

http://www.popsugar.com/love/Reading-Challenge-2016-39126431

I decided to become proactive and divide the 40 books by 12 months and found that I should read 3-4 books a month. I have already designated myself the first three books to read.

For the month of January I will read

  1. A book based on a fairytale- Briar Rose by Jane Yolen

A powerful retelling of Sleeping Beauty that is “heartbreaking and heartwarming.”

Ever since she was a child, Rebecca has been enchanted by her grandmother Gemma’s stories about Briar Rose. But a promise Rebecca makes to her dying grandmother will lead her on a remarkable journey to uncover the truth of Gemma’s astonishing claim: I am Briar Rose. A journey that will lead her to unspeakable brutality and horror. But also to redemption and hope.

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/81153.Briar_Rose?from_search=true&search_version=service

Reading through some of the reviews on Goodreads, I found that this book has segments of events that occur during the Holocaust. In 2015 and on my reading list page, I have read two books related to this time period and I am fascinated by the struggle people had to go through. I yearn to see if this book has a happy ending or a peaceful ending.

2. A National Book Award Winner- Behind the Beautiful Forevers: Life, Death, and Hope in Mumbai Undercity by Katherine Boo

From Pulitzer Prize-winner Katherine Boo, a landmark work of narrative nonfiction that tells the dramatic and sometimes heartbreaking story of families striving toward a better life in one of the twenty-first century’s great, unequal cities.

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/11869272-behind-the-beautiful-forevers?from_search=true&search_version=service

After searching the long list of award-winning titles, this non-fiction novel caught me by surprise. Although I could use this for the one check list point culture I am not familiar with, I decided to use it here. I want to emerge myself in a culture I had a small glimpse of while watching Slumdog Millionaire and The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel. Books about hope and struggle gravitate toward me to keep an open mind of what others in the world have to deal with everyday and to remind me to be thankful for what I have in my life.

3. A Young Adult Bestseller- Looking for Alaska  by John Green

Before Miles “Pudge” Halter’s whole existence has been one big nonevent, and his obsession with famous last words has only made him crave the “Great Perhaps” (François Rabelais, poet) even more. He heads off to the sometimes crazy, possibly unstable, and anything-but-boring world of Culver Creek Boarding School, and his life becomes the opposite of safe. Because down the hall is Alaska Young. The gorgeous, clever, funny, sexy, self-destructive, screwed-up, and utterly fascinating Alaska Young, who is an event unto herself. She pulls Pudge into her world, launches him into the Great Perhaps, and steals his heart.

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/99561.Looking_for_Alaska?from_search=true&search_version=service

I am looking forward to this book since I have read The Fault in Our Stars and PaperTowns. I find John Green novels always revolving around a love story but with some realistic events that everyone can relate to at some point in their lives. I hope this book is as adventurous as PaperTowns, yet has the true romance as found in the Fault in Our Stars.

 

If you enjoy reading as much as I do, help me to complete the checklist point of a book recommended by someone you just met, please comment on this post which books you recommend for me to read.

 

I will share my reviews as soon as I can 🙂

Stay positive and reach your resolutions.

3 comments

Leave a Reply

