The Great Christmas Knit-Off

The Great Christmas Knit OffThe Great Christmas Knit Off by Alexandra Brown

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A sincere Christmas tale of a woman who needed a weekend away from her worries in London and found comfort in a small English town, Tindledale. Her personal growth is heartfelt and her relationships with the townfolk is endearing. I found it to be a quick read with some unexpected moments that made me want to read more. I also felt sympathy for many characters and felt connected to them all. I think we all need a place like Tindledale in our lives.

View all my reviews

In November’s issue of Book Page Magazine which can be found in your local libraries, I saw an advertisement for this novel. I was drawn to this book becsuse it represented a woman who felt lost in her life and with the help from several people from a small town she was able to start over and begin her life wih a happy future. The uplifting story can leave you with a happy spirit. After all this is the season to be jolly.

I was finding myself wishing I went to Tindledale where I could start a business of my own and probably be successful since it is such a small town. I appreciate the community’s comradeship. I enjoyed Sybil’s transformation from a shy and introvert character to becoming a confident woman. I found myself laughing at several scenes throuhout the novel because I could relste to Sybs and probably react the same way. By the end of the book I found myself wishing I could knit. Perhaps it will be another task to add to my list to do before 30.

I recommend this book for women who would like to read a story that takes place in England and about self improvement with a bit of romance. The paperback is 400 pages and has 27 chapters yet I was able to complete in one weeks time.

Leave a Reply

