Pearl Harbor

  
Pearl Harbor Haiku

Early morning fear
Lives taken quick by ambush

An infamous date 
I recall a distant memory when I was walking my dog up and down the sidewalk and my neighbor came out to ask me how school was going. 

I responded that I was learning about World War II. He somberly answered that he had experienced that day. 

Taken back I wasn’t sure what to say. I was maybe 10 at the time and awkwardly responded,”That’s cool.”

Suddenly his face changed and his face puckered, he angrily said that there was nothing cool about that day. He never wanted to see or experience what had happened that day ever again in his life. 

I didn’t know what else to say. It was not my intention to upset him. I quickly walked away and went home. I reflected about what he had said and thought maybe I should apologize. I never did because he wasn’t a friendly man, but I look back and wish I did. 

It was years later when the movie Pearl Harbor came out that I felt the pain of my neighbor. 

Students learn history but really do not understand the experience that others went through. Only through film could one actually see and feel the emotions that occurred that early morning on Dec. 7, 1941.

May all the lives lost on that day never be forgotten. 

Leave a Reply

