Less is More

Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication.

                                       – Leonardo DaVinci

 

Over the past few days, I have had many ideas of what to compose for a blog post, but writer’s block took over my train of thought and just kept moving past station after station. I just couldn’t find myself to sit and piece it all together. I have recently been lost for words, but this quote by DaVinci reminded myself to keep my words simple. It reminded me that I did not need to embellish my thoughts so much that it became impossible to find a place to start.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

With the holidays just around the corner, I decided to apply this quote to my daily life. Keep all gifts and decorations to a minimum. With all the excessive commercials about stores with sales and the exaggerated details of Christmas, I easily get frustrated.  As I got older, I have now become a person who loves to enjoy Thanksgiving and the purpose of the holiday. It is meant to spend time with family and be grateful for all that you have in your life.

Don’t get me wrong, I love Christmas. However, I am disappointed that stores have went from Halloween to Christmas so fast. I understand that their sales are the highest during this period, however, it is best to wait until after Thanksgiving. I feel that overtime the stores will be adding to the fact that the Holiday season is drawn out and there will be a lack of appreciation.

Overall, I am a strong believer in keeping the holidays simple. Focus on what the true meaning of the holiday. It will help to allow your appreciation to grow for what you have in your lives.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

A Capstone of DaVinci’s Quote:

DaVinci’s Mona Lisa is one of many portraits he has painted. It is a perfect example of something simple yet it is so sophisticated. This portrait has raised many questions if she is smiling or not. It is also a major portion of the book and movie The DaVinci Code by Dan Brown.

IMG_5534.JPG

Image is actual Mona Lisa from the Louvre Museum in Paris, France.

 

 

Leave a Reply

