Wise Words Wednesday: Home

Three short excerpts of what Home means to me.

Home is the starting place of love, hope, and dreams.

Everyone has fond memories of the house they grew up in. Important milestones occur in different rooms. Learning to walk up and down the main hall. The abundant amount of food on the dinning room table for Thanksgiving and Easter. Opening up Christmas gifts in the den while holiday music plays in the background. The school years where you spent ample amount of time on projects, papers, and studying at the kitchen table. Playing outside with all the neighborhood kids. Lastly, all the words that were spoken in the house resonates with you to remember the life lessons you have learned thus far. My home is a place full of love and support. My parents encouraged me to chase my every dream. They watched me struggle and succeed. With each level I challenged myself, my parents were right there beside me with words of comfort. At the finish line they showed how proud they were of me and helped me to build me into the person I am today.

Life takes you to unexpected places. Love brings you home.

I love to travel to different places at least twice a year. My father takes me to the airport and when we say goodbye to each other I get a little overwhelmed and excited at the same time. I grow sad because I leave my safety net to travel to a new place. However, I am excited to fulfill my wanderlust. While on my trip I sometimes feel guilty that I am not able to share my experiences with my parents except through photos. I sometimes get homesick too. When I return and my father picks me up from the airport I can’t help but feel sentimental as I watch him smile with his dimples as I approach the car. I open the car and he says an enthusiastic “Hi!” that makes me feel relieved that I can feel safe again. As we drive home, I always appreciate the Manhattan skyline. It’s beauty makes me take a deep breath and sigh home.

Home is where the heart is.

This past year I have moved out of my childhood home to an apartment on my own. The move was bittersweet. I wanted to be on my own but still longed for a place that was already established and filled with love. It was unnatural going from a busy home with people always running around to a cozy apartment with just myself. I have more time on my own to appreciate, yet I love being able to sit and talk to my parents and pet my dog while we all watch t.v. and chat for a few hours. I find myself homesick at least once a week. I resolve it by returning home to visit them for a night. It helps me to restart my week with positivity and to remind myself I can always go home and feel welcomed and loved.

One comment

Leave a Reply

