Mindful Monday: I write because…

“I just knew there were stories I wanted to tell.” – Octavia E. Butler

I have recently joined a short online course offered by WordPress.com on how to write a blog. The first of many assignments is to explain the reason why I have started a blog.

I write to express my thoughts to an audience I will most likely never meet. I have a busy life and I have constant thoughts that run through my head. I want to give my mind the respect it deserves by slowing down and exploring my views of the world around me. The feeling of relief occurs after I write down my thoughts because I took the time out of my day to slow down just enough to appreciate a reflection of ideas.

One of the many goals in my life is to write a novel. The only productive way to attain this goal is to start to write each day. I am thankful that this website has offered to help novice bloggers like myself to start moving in the right direction. Daily practice will allow my wheels of creativity to turn and come up with a story to write.

Leave a Reply

